m0nkfish's Photoshops

monkfish

what are birds? we just don't know.
is a Community Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnus
m0nkfish's Photoshops (Updated: 22/09)

I've been playing around with Photoshop for a few years now, learnt a few tricks and now I am trying my hand at pokemon. I guess if it's popular enough I will do requests; to me it's all about learning new things, so this is more for my benefit, I suppose. I'm going to be going for a slightly more 'realistic' look than the cartoons, while hopefully retaining the essence of the pokemon.

What better way to start than with our very own Smogon?

Wow, that looks nice. I can see how you used a few layers of clouds there, which gave it the awesome smog looking effect. I just personally don't like the surface, too circle-y in my opinion. Really neat though.

monkfish

all from scratch except i kinda cheated and got some bubbles from a window for the skin texture ;) he was looking too smooth, koffing is lumpy!

all from scratch except i kinda cheated and got some bubbles from a window for the skin texture ;) he was looking too smooth, koffing is lumpy!
CHEATER!

Just kidding, but this is pretty sweet.

I'd want to see Scizor, or Toxicroak!

Great Sage

Banned deucer.
Wow that Koffing is awesome. If you decide to take requests, could you make one of a Tyranitar in a sandstorm?

monkfish

The next installment! Sorry Khold but Blastoise is a little too organic, I'd probably end up just recolouring a turtle. I'll try to get a few ideas together for the future :P

With that in mind, I took GetThunderStruck's suggestion of Scizor. I'm pretty happy with the way it turned out. The wings in particular were giving me bother but I stumbled upon an excellent filter (Unsharp Mask) completely by accident when I was trying to do something else, and voila they got a metallic sheen. All from scratch this time :)