XY LC Volt-Turn (but not really) Mk. II (Peaked #1)

apt-get

it's not over 'til it's over
is a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
Mk. I / BW Edition

Hi! This is a team I've been using for a few months. I originally created this team because I didn't have any good team anymore after the Misdreavus ban, and decided to look at my old BW2 teams to see if any strat could still be pulled off in XY. That's when I remembered my Volt-Turn team (linked at the top of this post) that I RMT'd.

I decided to update it for the new meta, and several people asked me if they could borrow the team for the LC Open. Now that the tournament is finishing soon, I feel like this team should be retired. So, here you go, the team!

▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀

FIRE IS MY BLOOD (Larvesta) @ Eviolite
Ability: Flame Body
Level: 5
EVs: 76 HP / 236 Def / 156 SpD / 36 Spe
Impish Nature
- Flare Blitz
- U-turn
- Will-O-Wisp
- Morning Sun
"So as I pray, unlimited blade works!"

Larvesta is one of the best physical attacker checks around. Taking 65% from Pawniard's strongest SD-boosted move is a feat not even Mienfoo can achieve. Flame Body is the cherry on the cake, as I don't even need to use Will-O-Wisp to cripple my opponent most of the time.

Flare Blitz is a strong STAB move that deals a lot of damage to anything in general, although it's a bit weaker than I would expect, but that's because I don't run any attack EVs. U-turn gives this team part of its name: it's a fantastic momentum-grabbing tool that allows me to scout the opponent and get out of chinchou switch-ins. Morning Sun is a much-needed recovery move, making Larvesta the great tank it is. Will-O-Wisp is the least useful move, but I need it in case Flame Body is getting unreliable.

The EVs maximize physical bulk, along with giving it some decent special bulk to sponge some resisted hits. Eviolite is a given, boosting Larvesta's defenses, while Flame Body detracts opponents from using Knock Off.