New to NU: Lessons from a scrub

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brambane

protect the wetlands
is a Contributor Alumnus

NEW TO NU: OBSERVATIONS, NOTES AND NOT-SO-PRO TIPS BY DRACOYOSHI8

So I guess I should introduce myself for those who do not know me. I am Dracoyoshi8, a not-so-skilled battler and teambuilder who joined Smogon during the DP era. I started playing NU on Shoddy battle during Gen IV and eventually go back into NU again near the end of Gen V until I ragequit because Liepard is a cheating bastard. I didn't play much of XY competitively, although I did dabble in Ubers and Little Cup at times. Well, now it is summer and I have not much to do, so I decided to start exploring competitive Pokemon, working my way from OU down. About five days ago, I tried NU for the very first time. OU, UU and RU didn't really stick with me, but I ended up falling quickly in love with NU.

However, I came in with no prior knowledge of the Pokemon, the metagame or what even to use. So I guessed and picked Pokemon I thought looked good and jumped onto the ladder and into PS! #neverused lobby tournaments. And I learned certain things very quickly. And now I am here to share my choice nuggets of wisdom with the community, so that one day when another new player gets 6-0'd by Heatmor because they didn't know it learned Giga Drain, he or she won't feel bad either!

1. Mantine does not counter Cryogonal.