Make it rain

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hello. I'm kind of new to competitive battling, but I've been lurking here in smogon for a while and I decided to make a rain team. I chose rain because I love rain in real life, and it's great for use in battle.

Team-building Process:

Politoed is obvious first choice cause drizzle.

Toxicroak was next because I always liked it and it functions amazing in rain.

I chose Dragonite because I wanted a strong mixed sweeper and Dragonite works great as a mixed sweeper under the rain.

Next is Scizor. I needed something that could revenge kill, and also make sure I had a reliable physical attacker. Scizor is an amazing pokemon and the fact that rain helps lower it's single weakness makes it perfect for rain.

Jolteon was next as another revenge killer and a great late-game sweeper. It's huge speed makes it perfect for this job.

Finally, Azumarill. At this point I wanted another choice user, and a physical one. Also, I noticed my lack of water types on a rain team, which seemed kind of stupid. Azumarill fit the bill perfectly.

Detailed team explanation:

Politoed:

Politoed (M) @ Leftovers
Trait: Drizzle
EVs: 252 Def / 252 HP / 4 Spd
Calm Nature
- Scald
- Toxic
- Ice Beam
- Encore

I went with pretty much the standard smogon defensive set, only changing the nature to calm. I chose defensive to keep Politoed around as long as possible, to help win weather wars. Scald is mandatory STAB plus a chance to burn is really helpful. Toxic is for status (obviously), Encore works great to help bother hazard setters, and Ice Beam helps hits dragons hard.

Toxicroak:

Toxicroak (M) @ Black Sludge
Trait: Dry Skin
EVs: 244 HP / 132 Atk / 120 SDef / 12 Spd
Adamant Nature
- Drain Punch
- Ice Punch
- Bulk Up
- Substitute