VGC Girls, Girls, Girls

Adamant Zoroark

catchy catchphrase
is a Contributor Alumnus

I've been spending a lot of time in VGC since I started playing it in 2014 just experimenting with various teams, trying to figure out what works for me. Then I finally figured it out - "You dummy, hyper offense worked for you in Singles! You should try it in VGC." And, sure enough, it worked. Why I didn't see it sooner (or build this team in time for Anaheim) is beyond me, but whatever.

I wanted to use Talonflame. Yeah, Gale Wings got hit badly this gen, but Talonflame has two main selling points: Priority Tailwind and priority fuck Pheromosa you ain't protecting against this shit Z-Move. I had always been like "lul Talonflame? More like TalonLAME, amirite?" but decided to see just how badly it got hurt. Plus, even if it were good for nothing but priority Tailwind, it's pretty important to have Tailwind on hyper offense, at the very least to match an opposing Tailwind.

From there, Kartana and Garchomp were must-haves, in my mind. From an experience with a previous team I built, I was never again going to build a team without super effective physical STAB to hit Tapu Fini with. On the other hand, Garchomp got on to have an answer to Arcanine.

I figured since I was building hyper offense, Tapu Koko would be the best fit for the team. It gave me a Taunt user to stop Trick Room setups, while at the same time seeming like the best fit for a Tapu for the team (Tapu Lele was a no-go as it hindered Talonflame, Tapu Fini seemed more defensive, and Tapu Bulu sucks). I, of course, was wrong, but more on that later.

Pheromosa got in for one simple reason: It kept destroying me. I was using the rationale of "If you can't beat 'em, join 'em," pretty much. Plus, Pheromosa allowed me to OHKO Tapu Koko, and I wasn't seeing very many other ways of handling it on a hyper offensive team, while making sure Porygon2 gets no chance to set up Trick Room.