Other Metagames Frozen Shadows - SS AG RMT (Peak #2, 1900 ELO)

calyrex-ice.gif
yveltal.gif
necrozma-duskmane.gif
marshadow.gif
eternatus.gif
ditto.gif

Screenshot 2021-02-17 at 7.35.22 PM.png

Hello everyone! My name is Frito135 and this is my first RMT. I started this team many months ago with the idea of showing people how devastating Calyrex-Ice can be in the AG metagame. Through several different iterations, Frozen Shadows finally came to be. This team is centered around the extremely hard hitting core of Calyrex-Ice and Choice Banded Marshadow. This wasn't the first core I tried with Calyrex-Ice, but it was by far the most effective one.

The Team
calyrex-ice.gif

Calyrex-Ice @ Heavy-Duty Boots
Ability: As One (Glastrier)
EVs: 248 HP / 252 Atk / 8 SpD
Brave Nature
IVs: 0 Spe
- Swords Dance
- Trick Room
- Glacial Lance
- High Horsepower

Calyrex-Ice is the cornerstone of this team. When I started playing AG, I wanted to build around as many mons as possible and Calyrex-Ice quickly became my favorite. Calyrex-Ice is incredible hard hitting and extremely bulky, able to take hits from the likes of Eternatus, Necrozma-Dusk-Mane, Geomancy Xerneas, Groudon, and even Calyrex-Shadow. The natural bulk comes with a pretty big trade off though, speed. The lack of speed makes Calyrex-Ice the best user and abuser of Trick Room in the AG metagame in my opinion, as it can find many opportunities to set up Trick Room with its massive bulk. Often times, Calyrex-Ice can set a Swords Dance up as well making it nearly unwallable, especially with Dynamax. Ice + Ground coverage is unresisted across the tier and hits many common mons, specifically the dragon types, extremely hard. The item is something I've changed around a lot. Life Orb gives Calyrex-Ice the power often needed to muscle through walls like Necrozma without a boost; however, I found with the hits it needs to take, taking 25% from Stealth Rocks wasn't really a viable option, so I opted for Boots instead. The power drop