Banded Boulder Balance

Banded Boulder Balance

Pokepaste:

:iron-boulder: :araquanid: :hydrapple: :heatran: :kingambit: :gliscor:

Introduction:
A bit about myself, this is my attempt at serious team building and first RMT post to set your expectations. I'm fairly new to competative pokemon generally and am aiming to improve my teambuilding and playing. In that vein, I'm very interested in any criticism and feedback about this team and how I could improve it.

Anyway, on to the team. I built this team around iron boulder and was hoping to use it in a way that I hadn't seen done effectively before. Since boulder tends to be run on more offensive teams, I decided to try a balance team to see if I could make the necessary support to run boulder as a banded sweeper. Heatran makes up the second half of the offensive core as my special attacker. Hydrapple and Araquanid fill out the back half of the fire/water/grass core and give phyical and special bulk respectively. Finally, kingambit and gliscor fill out some much needed resists and immunities as bulky glue. Araquanid does have webs, but I have often found that they aren't necessary to get up as boulder naturally outspeeds a good portion of the unboosted metagame, a big reason I decided to try to build around it, however webs can still be useful to lower the speed of faster threats like dragapult or darkrai and forcing mons like valiant lose the speed boost from their booster energy. The other big detail is that other than choice band on boulder, this team runs heavy duty boots on every mon. This helps me win the hazard metagame by circumventing it and turns my opponents hazard setting turns into free turns for me.

Roles: