ZeroFear Needs Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
If this is in the wrong location I apologize.

So, I'm new to smogon as well as online battles I know a few things, but nothing really relative. I'm trying to practice team building, but I don't really know what to look for when doing so. The threads posted by smogon were helpful, but I'm still a little bit confused. I'm trying to build a team that supports each other fairly well. I know no team can be perfect, but I'm going to try to get as close as possible. So, here's what i've been thinking so far for the beginning of a team.

Swampert
Item: Leftovers
Nature: Relaxed
Ability: Torrent
EV'S: 252 HP / 252 DEF
Moveset:
Earthquake / Stone Edge
Ice Beam / Surf
Stealth Rock / (Other)
Roar / (Other)

I've been reading that Swampert is not good as a wall, but can be very successful as a tank with the right movepool and support. I know there are other choices, but I still thought i'd give swampert a try anyway. He has excellent coverage, and while there are things that would make using him difficult, he still has his strong points and playing off of them will be key. Ice Beam is a nice counter for dragons, as well as grass types with proper prediction. If predicted correctly, a well placed roar would remove the grass threat upon entry, and while there would be a free turn of no damage for both players, the threat will have been removed. Although highly unlikely, an icebeam would 2HKO the returning grass type when considering stealth rock or other supports.

I'm unsure about this though. Maybe his lack of speed would be his downfall?

Scizor
Item: Choice Band / Choice Scarf
Nature: Jolly
Ability: Techinician
EV'S: 252 ATK / 252 SPD
Moveset:
U-turn
Bullet Punch / Iron Head
Pursuit / SuperPower
Quick Attack