Too many terms, words, and abbreviations

Because I'm completely new to the battling scene I have read through most of the articles. The biggest problem though is all special terms.

When writing an article there is common sense not to use terms that haven't been explained or that could be explained at the bottom of the page, or by the use of proper html.

There is a Dictionary though and it is great. But it don't have all frequent terms in it and in the articles there are terms only used once, thus making them hard to understand for those who don't know all the special terms yet.

Three solutions are at hand, preferable using all three.

Rewrite the dictionary.
Add more terms, with a smart system you could also tell which are special terms and which terms that are common.

Add more html description.
You already have a acronym engine running. It often falsely states that HP Ice is Hit Power Ice instead of Hidden Power Ice. It made me confused a long time.. XD

Make the article writers more aware
Make them more aware that they have to explain their terms or refrain from using terms like shortenings for Pokémon when they can write the whole name. The article will also look more clean and professional.

I could easily help out with both the html and dictionary stuff since I like writing explanations. I have learned a lot the two days I have been here reading but it could have been more painless. I also have some ideas for some introduction on how you should learn battling.

I tutor the best players in Europe in Stepmania and Smash Bros. Melee on how to think and train correctly and how to use your brain when you play. Effortful study is important but several other factors too, you usually just play and learn and don’t think about it.

Anyhow, this was just a suggestion on how you could make the texts easier to understand for newcomers.

Altmer

rid this world of human waste
is a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Top Contributor Alumnus