SS NU Thwackey+Ninjask 4L Offense (Peaked #1 on NU Ladder, 80.4 GXE 1646 ELO)

Danny

is a Community Contributoris a Top Tiering Contributor
ZU Circuit Champion
1598494644193.gif
1598494698418.gif
1598494712660.gif
1598494732922.gif
1598494746523.gif
1598494758925.gif

So this is my first time topping a ladder so I’m pretty ecstatic. I started playing this tier for the first time around May, and I started getting serious about laddering about a month ago. I’d like to say that I really love this tier, and the community and can’t wait for September 1st.

Intro: The team uses Ninjask+Grassy Terrain to overwhelm the checks to Ninjask and provide a way for it to sweep teams late game. It is supported by volt-turn momentum to bring in ninjask freely and never giving opponents a chance to breathe.

Proof of Peak:
1598494891782.png

The Team:

1598494838123.gif

Ninjask @No Item
Ability: Speed Boost
EVs: 252 Atk / 100 Def / 156 Spe
Adamant Nature
-Swords Dance
-Protect
-U-turn
-Acrobatics

The star of the show, Ninjask is a wonderful mon on offense, and although it needs a lot of support, the pay off is worth it. It gains momentum on its switch ins, is a potent revenge killer of faster Pokemon, and a strong late game cleaner. The Evs are a little strange, Adamant max attack is standard for ninjask, but the speed and defense Evs are different than the typical Ninjask spread. I opted for 156 Speed to outspeed Jolteon, even though it is not that common at the moment. 100 Defense EVs allows it to take knock offs pretty easily, and allow it to have some bulk. I opted for no HP EVs because I am rarely ever going to switch this guy in on any attack much less a Special attack. Ninjask can set up on many mons in the tier, including Gurdurr, Gourgeist Small, Poltergeist/Earthquake locked Golurk and many more. Its switch ins do not like taking an acrobatics+u-turn(Barring Rocky Helmet users), and this chip is essential to allowing Ninjask to sweep freely in the late game.