DPP OU Team Beautiful Death

Lee

@ Thick Club
is a Top Team Rater Alumnusis a Community Leader Alumnus

I've been using this team for a few months now, so I guess now's as good a time as any to retire it and try something new. It started out as just a fun team (it even used to have Flareon!) but I was enjoying myself so much that I started to sail up the ladder and eventually decided I may as well just get to the top before I retire it. I obviously win a lot with it, but it just doesn't feel like a top-tier team if you know what I mean? I'll occassionally go on losing streaks of 2-3 games which is just unacceptable at this level. I don't normally post RMT's (I've only posted one in all my time at Smogon!) but I recently let Havak use it and he seems to be having fun and success with it so why not?

Yeah, nothing unique here. Sorry! This is a pretty typical Platinum team. The ultimate goal here is to remove anything that stops Infernape from sweeping and then let him loose.

Metagross @ Occa Berry
Adamant
252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 Spe
- Meteor Mash
- Bullet Punch
- Earthquake
- Explosion

Very standard lead at the moment...I had a lot more success with it a few months ago when Azelf was the big dog but now people have caught onto it and his impact has been limited a bit. I think the main advantage this had was that many people expected Stealth Rock or Trick and seldom expected to be smacked by 405 Atk in the first turn.

Meteor Mash + Bullet Punch gets Azelf and Aero out of the way early, whilst EQ + BP in conjunction with Occa Berry puts LeadApe on his arse. Other common leads like Tyranitar, Gengar and Jirachi all lose out. The only common lead I ever really switch out of is Bronzong. The Fire-resist berry also occassionally allows me to catch out a Scarftran who might otherwise give Infernape problems later. After taking out the opponent's lead, I'll look to use Explosion on anything worthwhile. A true suicide lead.

Starmie @ Leftovers
Timid
Natural Cure