Project SS Monotype POTW #5: Sabella

approved by us
banner by Seo.

Welcome to the SS Monotype player interviews! During this project I will be interviewing a lot of influential players and contributors in today's community. I will also be interviewing some older faces in the Monotype community. This week, I have Sabella (Grandpa) with me.

1605236091677.png

Can you tell us a bit about your life outside of Smogon?

Of course. So to start I am 28 years old :Grandpa: and I work full time as a Senior Tax Accountant for a small Tax firm near my house. I currently have one class left to obtain my masters degree in accounting which will end summer of 2021. Still living at home but working on moving out with my girlfriend at the moment and renting an apartment. My life is mostly monopolized by work and school but when school is out I usually like to exercise as much as possible and just enjoy the weather. I like to watch anime a decent amount as well as other shows too but the list is to expansive to get into atm. I usually try to hang with friends when I have time and play wiffle ball or go hiking too. I also am a bowler and sub in my bosses league when they need me and I average about 220-225.

What do you think you are most known for in Monotype?

Probably just being around since the inception of what we know as monotype now. I would say also managing the Honchkrows and now having multiple titles is something I would be known for. I think most people would recognize me (at least back in the day) for my building. I was always trying to push the metagame and its boundries forward and come up with new ideas to make them standard. Now im known more for BW monotype id say as that is the main tier I play outside of CG which I usually only dabble in.

What made you play Pokemon competitively? What got you into Monotype and made you want to stay?