Not open for further replies.

Articuno @ Leftovers
EVs : 232 HP / 140 SpDef / 136 Spe
Calm Nature
- Ice Beam
- Tailwind
- U-turn
- Roost

This is the Tailwind Articuno set that I have been using so far in my midnight laddering and challenges. I've never used Tailwind before so I thought it would be a pretty stupid gimmick, but boy was I wrong. Tailwind is an extremely useful move in NU since many hard-hitters such as Marowak and CB Fraxure can easily break teams since many teams depend on revenge killing to deal with them. Articuno also gets U-turn which means Articuno can get its teammates in quickly without wasting any Tailwind turns. The EV spread allows Articuno to outspeed max speed base 70s and to outspeed base 95 scarfers during Tailwind. Credit to Keiran for this suggestion. It also helps outspeeding opposing Articunos. 232 HP Evs is used so Articuno can switch into SR twice and the rest is put in special bulk to take hits from the likes of Haunter much better. 140 Special Defense EVs is a jump point for Articuno (plus one). Tailwind and U-turn are obligatory moves on this set. I chose Ice Beam as its STAB move, but Hurricane can also be used if you want/need the Flying STAB. The last move I chose is Roost which allows Articuno to use Tailwind multiples times throughout a match which allows for more devastation.