Quanyails's Guide to CAP Art Submissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quanyails

On sabbatical!
is a Top Artist Alumnusis a Community Leader Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnus
Disclaimer

This guide is not authoritative. It represents my personal viewpoint, not the viewpoint of the CAP moderation team.
  • Do not use this guide to justify or disparage someone's CAP art submission.
  • Do not assume this guide is a recipe for success. There are many factors that affect the CAP art process beyond the points listed in this guide.
Overview

I've been drawing for the CAP Project for over 10 years now. Throughout this time, I've made many contributions to the CAP process. Among those are my art submissions; I've won the art poll for Floatoy + Caimanoe, Pluffle, and Astrolotl, and I've placed highly in a number of other art polls.

During the CAP process, I see many people post their designs, and I see many people give feedback on designs. Coming from my past experience, I thought I should write down my experiences in one place and share them with other CAP art contributors!

Each of the following suggestions is one I've seen, given, and/or received within the CAP community.

Excuse any formatting errors you find! Some of them seem to be due to a forum bug, as they reappear after every edit.

What this guide is not

This guide is not a "how-to" on creating Fakemon concepts. Given Pokémon's nature, you can take a very simple concept and make a really cool design out of it. Instead, I'll be focusing on tips on how to best present your design.

General art tips
  • Design comes first.A good Pokémon design is one that can be read at a glance and understood, and its concept should accent that—not the other way around. You may want to adapt an obscure creature into a Pokémon, but it will fly over the heads of the audience if they need to know the concept for the design to make sense.