Gen 4 New here! Here's my gen 4 Pearl team

So I'm fairly new to in-depth pokemon battling strategy. I just started learning everything outside of typing, and understanding what stats do, a few months ago. I'm really just looking for a way to get started participating in the community after trying a few builds from smogon. My main focus is taking on the battle tower in pearl, I was never very good at it I'm tired of being thrashed lol. Any way, here's my team:

Gyarados aka Wormy
jolly-intimidate
ev spread: Atk-252 Spe-252 Spd-4
moves: roar, waterfall, ice fang, dragon dance
leftovers

This is the pokemon I've probably sunk most of my time and effort into. The IV's are nearly perfect. I use it as my lead in single battle tower battles. Roar is for getting rid of poor matchups and pokemon with moves that abuse rng . dragon dance obviously to setup sweep and waterfall/ice fang for coverage/STAB. I was tempted to add fireblast or earthquake to the list, but I wasn't ready to commit to using my fb tm, and I can't afford earthquake from the tower yet

Toxicroak aka Walter
jolly-anticipate
ev spread: Atk-252 Spe-252 HP-4
moves: poison jab, substitute, sucker punch, brick break
poison barb

This one has fairly good IV's. Substitute is for avoiding obnoxious status and health afflictions from the battle tower npc's. The rng is bonkers when you're confused or paralyzed in these matches, I can't stand it. I also use it for feeling out the opponent/avoiding two-turn moves like dig. Brick break isn't really a favourite in the competitive scene as far as I've seen researching Toxicroak, but it deals decent damage and I prefer the accuracy. Plus breaking through some change moves comes in handy every now and then

Garchomp aka Meep
adamant-sand veil
ev spread: Atk-252 Spe-252 HP-4
moves: sandstorm, rockslide, dragon claw, dig
life orb