National Dex [NatDex AG] Liepard climbs the NDAG Meowntain (Peaked #1)

DaWoblefet

Demonstrably so
is a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Community Leaderis a Programmeris a Community Contributoris a Top Researcheris a Top Tiering Contributoris a Social Media Contributor Alumnus
PS Admin
Hi! My name is DaWoblefet. I'm a Pokemon Showdown technical administrator, battle mechanics researcher, and avid VGC player. Recently, I've been laddering with a team built around calling the move Revival Blessing repeatedly via Assist Liepard, more commonly known in the community as "Revive Cats". Using only this strategy, I reached rank 1 on the [Gen 9] National Dex AG ladder.

1674858955164.png

Background
Back in Generation 6, when Anything Goes was introduced, the thought of using absolutely anything legal in-game made me giddy. If you were challenging your friend in-game, this is what you would use. What kind of strategies would dominate when there was no Species or Item Clause, no restrictions on Mythical Pokemon, and no Smogon play restrictions? The concept just fundamentally seemed so cool, and much more appealing to me than typical Ubers play. Of course, this opens the door for sinister strategies too! At the time, Swagger had received a ban from standard OU play, and Swagger Thunder Wave Thundurus was reasonably popular in VGC play, so I thought: why not try 5 SwagPlay Liepard and a Mega Rayquaza? Now, don't get me wrong: the team was pretty bad and had fundamental issues, but it was just so fun to see how far such a ridiculous strategy could go.

To my delight, I saw another Prankster Liepard strategy was becoming very popular - Assist calling Revival Blessing, circumventing its 1 PP restriction to allow multiple revives in a single game! I was already very amused that Revival Blessing could be called by other moves at all, so it seemed a natural fit as a succession to the Cats of old.