Other Metagames Long Live: A Lasting AAA Team (1,000th post)

UT

Old habits die SCREAMING
is a Site Content Manageris a Top Team Rateris a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Top Social Media Contributoris a Member of Senior Staffis a Community Contributoris a Smogon Discord Contributoris a Top Contributoris a Top Smogon Media Contributoris a Dedicated Tournament Hostis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
Appeals + C&C Lead

:ss/terrakion: :ss/azelf: :ss/corviknight: :ss/swampert: :ss/blissey:

why is the Corv sprite so big it really kinda messes this up
Hello friends! I have never done a RMT before, and I'm told that's the cool thing to do for your 1,000th post, so here we are! Anyone who plays AAA, or knows me at all, should pretty much immediately recognize this team, as I have spammed it across every meta shift and it still holds up well. It has been a sample team, carried me to suspect reqs three separate times, and despite the fact it is quite dated now and all the techs are well known and adapted to, it still plays very well and represents my playstyle to a T. You can see echoes of this team in almost every one I build, even in non-AAA metas, and I consider it the best team I ever built. So without further ado, let's jump in!

Teambuilding process
:terrakion:
I had a habit early in my AAA career of latching onto one broken breaker and spamming it. At first that was SFLO Gengar, but then the corrupt council banned it for no good reason. Then it was Tapu Bulu for a while, but finally I settled on the mon I would main for most of the generation: Terrakion. Its STAB coverage is nearly unresisted, and it in many ways is the perfect breaker for my preferred pivot-and-wallbreaker style of offense. It is prediction reliant and often needs a few switch ins to wear down its checks, but it generally rewards skillful play; the more times you get it in, the better it is.

:terrakion: :azelf: