Implementing MCTS for PS

I am a university student and (aspiring) data scientist. I am working on a project to implement Monte Carlo Tree Search in order to make a bot that can efficiently search through the Pokemon game tree and hopefully achieve top level competitive performance.

Referencing this video:

The creator of that video mentioned that they were able to get access to a dataset of 2,000,000 games in order to train on.

I would love access to this dataset if possible! :heart:

Any help or guidance on another place to ask for this data would be much appreciated.

If you're looking into MCTS then a better route might be a self-play model using deep reinforcement learning (an architecture similar to AlphaGo Zero). These models do not require any historical play data and outperform historical data models over time. The showdown simulator conmmand-line tools make doing these quite feasible, I think. I'm beginning work on a similar project myself. I'm an experienced data scientist, but software engineering is not my forte so a lot of pieces to put together to make it happen, though.

So I have done research into implementing and AlphaGo Zero or even MuZero like algorithm, and I was under the impression that it wouldn’t work because of Pokémon’s imperfect information.

Of course you could just pretend it’s a perfect information game with either domain knowledge and usage stats, or one approach I was considering was just having an unknown state be a valid parameter for each Pokémon in a party.