OU GSC Teams Through The Ages

M Dragon

The north wind
is a Community Contributoris a Top Tiering Contributoris a Top Tutor Alumnusis a Tournament Director Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Top Dedicated Tournament Host Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Moderator Alumnusis the Smogon Tour Season 17 Championis a defending World Cup of Pokemon Championis a Past SPL Champion
World Defender
GSC has always been one of my favourite metagames, and probably ther metagame where I have had more dominating results in both ladder and tournaments.
I will post here my favourite and most succesful teams over the years, how they worked, why I liked those teams, the impact they had over the metagame and how they have evolved over the time. I will also include replays (in both tournaments and ladder) to show how the teams worked.

1) The Netbattle Days (2004 - 2006)

When I started playing pokemon competitively, the main simulator was called Netbattle, and while the main generation at the time was ADV, Netbattle also supported RBY and GSC. Back at that time, there wasn't a good GSC level in the servers I used to play (I didn't join Smogon until 2008), as we used to focus in ADV, which was the main gen.
However, there were some small GSC tournaments (although the level of those tournaments sucked, compared to the ADV ones).
One important thing was that HP Electrics were banned, so Zap and Kou were much less dangerous mons, and grounds could easily wall them.
Sadly, I don't really remember the teams I used and I don't have any GSC log of that time.

This wasn't very relevant because I only played GSC in a couple of small tournaments back then with a very low level. I wasn't very involved in GSC and I think I never played any good GSC player in those tournaments I played in.

2) Learning GSC again (2010 - 2011)