Gen II - Crystal Battle Tower Discussion

QuentinQuonce

formerly green_typhlosion
I'm completely new to battling but really want to beat every level in the tower on my playthrough. I was wondering what the best team would be to beat every level. So the same 3 pokemon for all 10 levels to minimize grinding. The team doesn't need to consistently beat any level, just be actually capable of doing so without too much luck. I also used some of the good TMs on shitty pokemon so that is another reatriction for me.

The TMs I still have are: 4-6, 10-13, 16-21, 27, 31, 34-37, 40-43, 45, 47-50 + whatever TMs have repeatable methods to obtain.

This is supposed to be done on a single crystal file so no trade to evolve or gen 1 pokemon. I also never caught Snorlax so that's out of the picture. Is this even possible or should I just reset my 150 hour file.
It's possible (in the sense that anything is possible) but you've made a difficult task harder by 1) not wanting to use any other games, 2) already having used several good TMs, and 3) not having Snorlax.

Using the same 3 Pokemon for all 10 levels sounds like a potentially really fun challenge... I've been thinking about devoting some time to this soon. Much harder with those three factors listed above taken into account, but it's definitely doable if you can think up three which fit well together. For instance I used Arcanine, Aerodactyl, and Lapras for level 10 which I think in general could probably have a decent shot at conquering the whole tower. Maybe. Idk.

OTOH if you're dead set on not using any other games there are some fun ways to go about your task. In particular the lower levels can be fun to abuse with Pokemon that don't normally evolve until later, since the Gen II games allow for some species to be caught way underlevelled. Off the top of my head:
  • Dragonair can be caught at level 10 by fishing on Route 45 (and you can trade one to the girl in Blackthorn City for a level 10 Dodrio)