Announcement (april fools lol) Goodbye RBY

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amaranth

is a Site Content Manageris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Top Tiering Contributoris a Top Contributoris a Dedicated Tournament Hostis a Tournament Director Alumnusis a Social Media Contributor Alumnusis a Community Leader Alumnusis a Past SPL Champion
I am quitting RBY and all positions of leadership within the community (Forum mod, Discord admin, Council member, C&C Leader). There are many reasons for this; this post will explain some of them + share one last thing that I think could help people improve before I go.

I started playing competitive pokemon in 2009. I was naturally horrible at it initially, and the internet (especially the internet from over a decade ago) did not mince words. When you are 9 years old (and especially when you are a sensitive 9 year old), these things stick with you. I had a chip on my shoulder ever since; I wanted to show the mean users I was not so bad.
For 7ish years this didn't really go anywhere; I took that drive off to other competitive games, where I got solid results - this kind of grind satisfied me and throughout high school I had all the time in the world for it, it just didn't line up with Pokemon for a while, which I treated as a more casual thing.

Then, when in 2017 I was approached by Troller for RBY practice, I said, you know what, why not. And then we did it again the next day, and the next, and the next, and before too long we were both in SPL.