An Outsider's Curiosity On Pokémon Dream Radar

bdt2002

Pokémon Ranger: Guardian Signs superfan
is a Pre-Contributor
"On an unrelated note, due to not being able to get them anymore, everything obtained specifically from Dream Radar should be banned from Gen 5 competitive now in my opinion (the idea being people who paid for DLC in advance having an unfair advantage over new players)" -Myself in another thread a few minutes ago

Hey there, everyone. This is my first time trying to make a thread on one of these Past Generations forums, so I apologize for anything that goes wrong in advance. Generation 5 was my first full generation of Pokémon I ever played, having technically started extremely late into Generation 4's lifespan in 2010. As a result, while I don't play BW formats as much as others, being more of a casual player these days, I was still around for when the generation was in its prime and when the various tiers were in active development.

I wanted to bring attention to the 3DS spin-off game Pokémon Dream Radar, released alongside Pokémon Black 2 & White 2 in 2012. As I'm sure most of you know, Pokémon Dream Radar can connect to those games, enabling players to access various Pokémon they otherwise couldn't, namely the Therian Forme Legendaries and the Hidden Ability variants of Dialga, Palkia, Giratina, Ho-Oh, and Lugia. Up until recently, there haven't been any issues with this, but following the announcement of the Nintendo 3DS eShop's closure set for March 27th, 2023, I've come across an issue this may cause for new B2W2 players going forward.