Challenge 7,000 Grains of Sand: Advancements in the Battle Institute

Last October, I finally picked up Black 2, leaving generation 4 (and I guess 8 as well) as the extent of the "memory hole" in the franchise to which I have no firsthand experience. At times, it's felt like exploring a well-trodden land that thousands of other players have already charted, but even so, there's been room to find things that Bulbapedia hadn't yet documented (such as Pokestar Studios scripts being a usable way to invoke the impossible move selection glitch). There's also been a little place called the Battle Institute, which I've already experienced in X and OR, the big difference is that this time there's a medal that gives me reason to play through the mode 50 times (hey, if it's not going to give BP and items like it does in the next generation, at least...ooh, shiny!). And if I'm going to play through it 50 times, damned if I don't decipher how it works along the way.

Conventional wisdom holds that the Battle Institute is a facility that essentially asks you to speedrun 5 battles, as there's a cost for each passing turn and the points you get on most turns generally don't add up to enough to offset it. As such, and with this being the generation most known for infinite weather and accessible setters, the first thing that came to mind was a sand team with a Choice Band sweeper to blow past as much as possible, and maybe the sand will have some utility in breaking sashes or whatever. I was getting a few 6200-6500 runs while hoping for the perfect combination of opponents to get 5 easy sweeps, but as I went over the scoring system, things weren't adding up.

Spoiler alert: It turns out the accounts of the scoring system there, which we've had for 10 years, were wrong all along.